Dream Velvet Foundation Review

Hi Guys


Today I am going to be reviewing the Dream Velvet foundation from Maybelline in the colour 01 Natural. The foundation retails for €11.99

Maybelline claims that the foundation:

  • Provides a semi matte finish
  • Velvet Smooth Finish
  • Leaves complexion perfected
  • Skin stays hydrated for 12 hours

Swatches

Review

The foundation has a gel whipped formula which is usually very hydrating but for me it really did not work out. I have combination skin which can sometimes be quite dry so I thought that this foundation would be perfect but that was not the case. When I first applied the foundation it blended out perfectly and looked flawless. It is by no means  a high coverage foundation so if you want to cover blemishes you would need quite a heavy-duty concealer to use along with this product. I’m quite pale so I went for the lightest shade available which was still not a perfect match for me as the product, while it blends out nicely also oxidises and the colour does get slightly darker so you would need to get the shade lighter than the one you would regularly use.

I always use moisturizer and primer before I apply foundation and that usually sorts out any dry skin issues that I have but when I used this foundation, I was able to see some cakeiness and the foundation clung to any dry patches within an hour of wear. The foundation also doesn’t really dry down like other matte foundations will which means that the foundation does transfer quite a lot onto clothes which can be an issue. Maybelline recommends that you buy the specific blender for the foundation, which I did not do but I can’t imagine it would have made much of a difference to how the foundation wears on the skin.

This foundation may be perfect for someone with normal/oily skin as the dryness would not be as much of an issue. In terms of wear time, the foundation does last at least 8-10 hours which is great for a semi-matte foundation. If you have combination skin and you’re looking for a foundation to give you the perfect matte look then I would highly recommend the L’oreal Infallible 24 hour foundation because it is amazing value for money as you get a flawless matte finish from a drugstore product. I hope this review was helpful and I will chat to you guys soon!

BeautifyBooks Rating: 2.5/5


Bye Guys!

4 thoughts on “Dream Velvet Foundation Review

Leave a comment